Monthly Archives: January 2009

Top 100 Backpacking Resources

When backpacking around the world it’s important to have all the resources you might need at your fingertips. These resources are available in various top ten lists milling around the internet, but you can’t fit all the sites you need into a list of just ten so I’ve gone a step further.

Below is a list of the top 100 backpacking resources (besides Top Backpacking Destinations of course!) that travellers may need when they’re backpacking around the world, whether it is a guide to destinations or a simple currency converter. These are sites that I’ve accumulated over the years as well as ones that other backpackers have recommended along the way. Hope it’s helpful…

Backpacking Guides
Lonely Planet www.lonelyplanet.com
Time Out Guides www.timeout.com
World Backpackers www.worldbackpackers.net
Gap Year Gap year travel guide and gap year directory
The Guardian Travel www.guardian.co.uk/travel
Home and Abroad www.homeandabroad.com
Gridskipper www.gridskipper.com
Spotted by Locals www.spottedbylocals.com
Transitions Abroad www.transitionsabroad.com
Gap Adventures www.gapadventures.com
Euro-backpacker.com www.euro-backpacker.com
Backpacking Europe www.backpackingeurope.com
CitySpy www.cityspy.info
The Backpacking Site www.the-backpacking-site.com
Bakpak Travelers Guide www.bakpakguide.com
Backpacking www.backpacking.net
The Backpacker www.thebackpacker.net
Time For a Holiday www.timeforaholiday.co.uk
World Travel Guide www.worldtravelguide.net
Fodor’s Travel Guides www.fodors.com
Virtual Tourist www.virtualtourist.com/travel
Travel Independent www.travelindependent.info
Backpackers.com www.backpackers.com
Go Plan It! www.goplanit.com

Backpacker Accomodation
World Best Hostels www.worldbesthostels.com
Hostel in Europe www.hostelineurope.com
Hostelbookers www.hostelbookers.com
Hostel World www.hostelworld.com
Couch Surfing www.couchsurfing.com
Hosteling International www.hihostels.com
Late Rooms www.laterooms.com
Vietnam Hotels List of Vietnam Hotels from budget to luxury
Stay in Europe www.stay-in-europe.org
Hostel Pages www.hostelpages.com
Hotels Valued www.hotelsvalued.com
Hotel-Base www.hotel-base.com
Kayak.com www.kayak.com
Milhouse Hostel Top Hostel in Buenos Aires
The Guide to Sleeping in Airports www.sleepinginairports.net

Buying and Booking
Travel Supermarket www.travelsupermarket.com
Travel Jungle ww.traveljungle.co.uk
Lastminute.com www.lastminute.com
Last Minute Travel www.lastminutetravel.com
Travel Zoo www.travelzoo.co.uk
Voucher Codes www.codes.co.uk
Skyscanner www.skyscanner.net
Trip Advisor www.tripadvisor.co.uk
Expedia www.expedia.co.uk
Britain on rail www.britainonrail.com

Backpacking Communities
Dopplr www.dopplr.com
Thorntree thorntree.lonelyplanet.com
Where Are You Now www.wayn.com
Travelblog www.travelblog.org
Travel Pod www.travelpod.com
Igougo www.igougo.com
Twitter www.twitter.com
Gumtree www.gumtree.co.uk

Backpacking Blogs
Frugal Holiday Tips goeurope.about.com/cs/travelbasics/a/saving_money.htm
LA Times Daily Deal Blog travel.latimes.com/daily-deal-blog
Globespotters intransit.blogs.nytimes.com/category/globespotters
This Just In – Budget Travel current.newsweek.com/budgettravel
Guardian Travel Blog www.guardian.co.uk/travel/blog
The Professional Hobo
Indie Travel Podcast indietravelpodcast.com
The Frugal Traveller frugaltraveler.blogs.nytimes.com
One Year Trip www.oneyeartrip.com
Vagabonding vagabonding.com
Eds Gone South edsgonesouth.com
Approach Guides

General Backpacking Gems
British Embassy www.fco.gov.uk/en
World Weather www.worldweather.wmo.int
STA Travel www.statravel.co.uk
XE Currency changer www.xe.com
Travel Insurance Guide – Great insurance info for backpackers
Travellers Point www.travellerspoint.com
Work The World www.worktheworld.co.uk/
Backpacking Resources www.backpackingresources.com
Hiking and Backpacking www.hikingandbackpacking.com
Backpacking Light www.backpackinglight.co.uk
Travel Directory Great backpacking Resources
Tourist Click www.touristclick.com/
Simply Parking www.simplyparking.co.uk
Travel and Tourism Directory
Travelwebdir.com Travel Resources
Travelistic www.travelistic.com
Serious Eats www.seriouseats.com
DFYT www.dontforgetyourtoothbrush.com
Ecoteer www.ecoteer.com
The Bathroom Diaries www.thebathroomdiaries.com
Tripit www.tripit.com
Backpacking Resources www.backpacking-guide.com
ATM locator visa.via.infonow.net/locator/global
CyroFinders – worldwide flight info www.cyrofinders.com
Travel Rants www.travel-rants.com
Audioguide2go www.audioguide2go.com
Photosynth www.photosynth.net
Hazelmail www.hazelmail.com
The Man in Seat Sixty-One www.seat61.com
Budget Travel budgettravel.about.com/od/howtobeabudgettraveler/tp/howtolist.htm
Boots and All www.bootsnall.com

Backpacking in Asia and Australasia

ackpacking in Asia and AustralasiaAsia and Australasia are often the places young travellers swarm to first to get a taste for the backpacking world and see what the fuss about backpacker travel is all about. But these two continents have far more to offer the backpacker than just cheap, boozy beach parties, they are jam packed with cultural anomalies, delicious foods and wonderful surprises. Which will you choose to discover first?

Byron Bay, Australia
Xian, China
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Koh Phangan, Thailand
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Want more info to take with you on your backpacking trip? Get great advice and endless tips with the Lonely Planet Guide’s for Asia and Australasia:

Backpacking in Africa

Backpacking in AfricaAfrica is where backpackers come to really prove their salt. It is not renowned as being particularly travel friendly and even occasionally unsafe, but it has some of the world’s best, undiscovered backpacking destinations. And it doesn’t have to be difficult or dangerous, just follow the same rules you would when backpacking anywhere else and you’ll be just fine. Take your pick from these fine options and you’ll soon see that Africa is more than worthy of being included on the itinerary of anyone backpacking around the world:

Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Dogon County, Mali
Imlil, Morocco
Marrakech, Morocco
Cape Town, South Africa
The Gambia

It’s always worth having the Lonely Planet Guides to take with you so you’ve got easy access to all the best tips:

Backpacking in Europe

Backpacking in EuropeEurope has many different sides to it, so for a discerning backpacker it is perfect. Travel is easy and backpacker accomodation is everywhere. One minute you can find yourself in Paris spending your whole budget on croissants and coffee (and loving every second of it!) and the next you can be in the hills of Slovenia taking in the most breathtaking scenery you’ve ever laid your eyes on. It caters for every taste, check out the destinations below to see what best suits yours:

Vienna, Austria
Hvar, Croatia
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
London, England
North Yorkshire Moors, England
Paris, France
Kazbegi, Georgia
Various, Iceland
Riga, Latvia
Soller, Mallorca
Krakow, Poland
Bratislava, Slovakia
Lake Bled, Slovenia

Get the tips in a hard copy so you’ve got easy access to everything you need, no matter how rural you go:

Backpacking in North and Central America

Backpacking in North and Central AmericaThe Americas have so much to offer it’s hard to know where to start. There’s so much contrast between the USA and Canada and Central America but there’s one thing they have in common; they all have fantastic backpacking destinations to visit. From the more developed destinations on offer in North America to the raw, untouched beauty of Central America you won’t find yourself short of places to visit. Go backpacking to any of these places and you’ll find it hard to leave:

Chichicastenango, Guatemala
Antigua, Guatemala
Copan, Honduras
Everglades, USA
Huntington Beach, USA
Niagara Falls, USA/Canada
Santa Barbara, USA
Yosemite NP, USA

Don’t forget all these tips once you leave, get the hard copy to take with you:

Backpacking in South America

Backpacking in South AmericaSouth America is an amazing place to go backpacking, it is packed with varied destinations and different activities that will blow your mind time and time again. Whether it’s experiencing the sunrise over the famous Machu Picchu or discovering a tiny village in the Amazon you’ll enjoy every second. Best of all, backpacker travel is made incredibly easy across the continent, whether it’s finding good backpacker accomodation in Argentina or booking onto a night bus from Peru to Colombia. Check out the various backpacking destinations below and try and pick and favourite, i still can’t!

Mendoza, Argentina
Patagonia, Argentina
Potosi, Bolivia
Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia
Iguazu Falls, Brazil
Ilha Grande, Brazil
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Cartagena, Colombia
Colombia to Panama Sail
Cuenca, Ecuador
Huacachina, Peru
Machu Picchu, Peru
Mancora, Peru

A guide book with all this info is an essential to give you a headstart when you’re on your journey:

Top 10 Backpacking Essentials

When you’re about to go backpacking there’s always a million things going through your mind and, no matter how organised you are, it’s very hard to remember every last thing. It doesn’t matter if you forget a pair of pants or a t shirt but you don’t want to be left without any of the essentials that you can’t live without.

So to help you with the packing process Top Backpacking Destinations has put together a list of the top ten backpacking essentials that you absolutely mustn’t forget when you head out on the road:

Backpacking EssentialsGuide Book: Whilst i would always recommend travelling freely and exploring the unknown when out on the road, a guide book to the places you are visiting will always be helpful. All the information for arrival, backpacker accomodation and other essential titbits really help out. There’s also the language barrier to cross in many destinations and if you have a good guidebook this will give you all the necessary phrases.

Bags: Of all the things that you take with you, your rucksack is the one you’ll get most friendly with. So make sure you get a good one! My one tip would be to get a rucksack that fully opens around the side, there’s nothing worse than rooting around for something at the bottom of your bag through one small opening! A good daybag is also essential, and i would recommend getting one with a built in water bag and drinking straw as you’ll often use it when you’re out on treks and long day trips. The last bag to remember is a sleeping bag. A lot of backpacker accomodation won’t have nice bedding and you’ll really appreciate curling up in your own toasty bedding.

Security: What’s the point having great bags if people nick all the stuff out of them?! Always have a few padlocks to use on your main rucksack (when you leave it in a hostel or put it in the lower compartment of a bus)and on your daybag (for the most important bits like money and passport). A money belt is also a good idea for when you’re wandering around the bigger cities.

Camera Memory Cards: You’d have to be a nugget to forget your camera when you step out your front door, but you could be forgiven for not taking spare memory cards. In the digital age it’s easy to get snap happy and having a spare memory card or two is always useful. Even taking a USB stick is a good idea to load photos onto in order to clear space on your memory cards.

First Aid Kit: This is an obvious one but one that many overlook. Make sure it’s well stocked as in many places it’s hard to find reliable sources of medicine and medical supplies.

MP3 Player: Some people say you shouldn’t take expensive items away with you but i disagree. Whether you’re on a long bus journey, having a quiet night in the hostel or relaxing on the beach your MP3 player will always come in handy. It’s also a great tonic for when you get a bit of homesickness as it can bring a nice reminder of good times back home.

Head Torch: You might not be out in the jungle every night while you’re away but a head torch is useful in more situations than that. When you stay in a hostel dormitory most nights it’s perfect for late night reading or midnight trips to the bathroom.

Travel Adaptors: There’s nothing more frustrating than having all your electrical appliances with you and not being able to use them as you can’t charge them up. You only need 2 or 3 maximum and they’re only small so stock up!

Document pack: It’s a boring one but you should have some sort of folder to keep all your essential items in one place. Visas, insurance details, photocopies of your documents/cards are all musts. Another good admin point along these lines is to set up a couple of back up bank accounts before you leave. It’s not uncommon for banks to put a hold on an account if it’s used abroad so you don’t want to be left without any source of the cash or you won’t be having any fun!

Set up a blog: A blog is a great way to log the memories of your trip and will make a fantastic keepsake to look back on when you’re home and back at work! It’s also a great way to pass on all the news to your loved ones at home without having to write a million emails saying the same thing every week. And it’s so easy to do so there’s no excuse!